Robotic Arm Ideas

Pyro Project Ideas/Requests
encrypter
Newbie Pyro

Robotic Arm Ideas

Postby encrypter » Sat Dec 01, 2007 6:17 am

Hi There,

I'm a high school student currently taking an advanced Computer Engineering course. For our final project we have to build a robot that is able to follow a black line on a board and be able to pick up a golf ball that is resting on a golf tee with a robotic arm. The arm is to be 'powered' by a DC motor with a high torque, low speed configuration avaliable from Solarbotics in Canada. My robot is going to be controlled by a PIC (model P16F684 programmed in Assembler) with two more DC motors (this time with low torque, high speed) which will be the two wheels for the robot.

My main question is, from your experience building robotic arms, what would be the best type of arm to construct (in terms of length, opening and closing, etc.)? My apologies in advance as I severely lack the experience of building these types of projects

Thanks for all your help. I'm enjoying the projects you post on your site by the way. Keep up the great work!

Kevin
Newbie Pyro

Postby Kevin » Sat Dec 01, 2007 8:04 pm

I recommend you to use servo or stepper motors to move the arm because you would need a very complex closed loop feedback for your DC motors. :D

About the arms, I don't know but I'm pretty sure Chris would help you :P

ThePyroElectro
PyroElectro Admin

Postby ThePyroElectro » Sat Dec 01, 2007 8:38 pm

Hey encrypter,

I'm glad they offer this kinda stuff in highschool. I woulda killed to take a class dealing
with electronics/robotics while I was in highschool.

To answer your question:

I've used many of solarbotic's dc motors, the ones geared up for high torque
and they've worked very well. The best part about some of their geared dc motors
is that they also make wheels for their unique GM type motors.

As for the arm gripper itsself. You have the advantage of knowing you need to