Pin Planner problem

Talk about the fifth PyroEDU course here.
ElectronicIsLife
Newbie Pyro
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 12:45 am

Pin Planner problem

Postby ElectronicIsLife » Wed Aug 06, 2014 12:54 am

Sometimes, when I open up the pin planner window, i can't see the pin needed, just a message " MAX3000A, Cannot display Pin Planner: the current Compiler settings assign an AUTO device " , sometimes i can see the CPLD.
Also, i was unable to change the INPUT location or OUTPUT location, when i double click on the location box, a message pop up 'Can't edit the current device because the device is read only.'
Please help me :(

Bingo600
Newbie Pyro
Posts: 75
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2014 7:22 am

Re: Pin Planner problem

Postby Bingo600 » Wed Aug 06, 2014 1:39 pm

Sorry i can't help.

My crystal Ball ia a bit foggy today.
It should have shown your OS type and version. , along with the Quartus version.

/Bingo

ThePyroElectro
PyroElectro Admin
Posts: 1181
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 9:24 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Re: Pin Planner problem

Postby ThePyroElectro » Wed Aug 06, 2014 5:09 pm

ElectronicIsLife wrote:Sometimes, when I open up the pin planner window, i can't see the pin needed, just a message " MAX3000A, Cannot display Pin Planner: the current Compiler settings assign an AUTO device " , sometimes i can see the CPLD.
Also, i was unable to change the INPUT location or OUTPUT location, when i double click on the location box, a message pop up 'Can't edit the current device because the device is read only.'
Please help me :(


Hi,

It sounds like you might not have selected the specific CPLD device you are using and so the Quartus II tool is trying its best to accomodate your design:

Image

If you go into the project properties and select the specific device, for example we're using the EPM3032ATC44-10, then you should not have this error:

Image

Hope this helps!


Return to “Introduction to CPLD and FPGA”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests