atmega

Talk about the fourth PyroEDU course here.
jeremybrown82
Newbie Pyro
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2014 3:05 pm

atmega

Postby jeremybrown82 » Thu Jul 03, 2014 6:46 pm

Can we use ATMEGA328P instead of the ATMEGA328?

ThePyroElectro
PyroElectro Admin
Posts: 1181
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 9:24 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Re: atmega

Postby ThePyroElectro » Thu Jul 03, 2014 7:35 pm

jeremybrown82 wrote:Can we use ATMEGA328P instead of the ATMEGA328?


Hi,

Definitely. As long as an Arduino compatible bootloader is installed, it will work.

jeremybrown82
Newbie Pyro
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2014 3:05 pm

Re: atmega

Postby jeremybrown82 » Fri Jul 04, 2014 12:07 pm

Great, i have already bought the complete kit for microcontroller. However i was wondering how does the boot loader get on the chip?

ThePyroElectro
PyroElectro Admin
Posts: 1181
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 9:24 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Re: atmega

Postby ThePyroElectro » Fri Jul 04, 2014 6:28 pm

jeremybrown82 wrote:Great, i have already bought the complete kit for microcontroller. However i was wondering how does the boot loader get on the chip?


Hi Jeremy,

The bootloader is put on the chip by a standard AVR programmer, for example an AVR ISP MKII: http://store.atmel.com/PartDetail.aspx?q=p:10500054#tc:description, these programmers can also load program code and memory as well as set fuses.

We don't use these programmers in the course because being an 'introduction' we wanted to keep things cheap+simple....and if it turns out you really love this stuff, spend some money on a programmer/debugger.

jeremybrown82
Newbie Pyro
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2014 3:05 pm

Re: atmega

Postby jeremybrown82 » Fri Jul 04, 2014 10:59 pm

Absolutly, i appricate your continued support. Nice setup you have here, very clever.


Return to “Introduction to Microcontrollers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests