Page 2 of 3

Re: 8x8x8 LED Cube

Posted: Wed Oct 02, 2013 12:46 am
by Rjss3
Sir, did you have a chance to load those pictures?

Re: 8x8x8 LED Cube

Posted: Fri Oct 04, 2013 4:23 am
by ThePyroElectro
Rjss3 wrote:Sir, did you have a chance to load those pictures?


Hope this helps:

http://pyroelectro.com/files/888_top.jpg
http://pyroelectro.com/files/888_bottom.jpg

Re: 8x8x8 LED Cube

Posted: Fri Oct 04, 2013 3:24 pm
by Rjss3
ThePyroElectro wrote:
Rjss3 wrote:Sir, did you have a chance to load those pictures?


Hope this helps:

http://pyroelectro.com/files/888_top.jpg
http://pyroelectro.com/files/888_bottom.jpg


Thank you so much! I really appreciate it, as well as sharing all your projects with us!

Re: 8x8x8 LED Cube

Posted: Sat Feb 01, 2014 5:03 pm
by KDLaun
Hello All,

Finally got around to posting some pictures of my cube project online.
You can see them here:

http://www.instructables.com/id/Club-Ja ... -Cube-Kit/

-KDL

Re: 8x8x8 LED Cube

Posted: Sun Feb 09, 2014 6:28 am
by goroth
So I have built the Jameco 8x8x8 led cube but I have a few problems.
1.) I need to swap the Y and Z axis without rewiring the bottom of the cube. I changed the setvoxel but I need a more consistent way.
2.) All the lights on my cube seem to light up fine with except when I try light up single leds by using the setvoxel for some specific leds.
Like if I run setvoxel(3,0,0) I get nothing and if I run setvoxel(4,0,0) I get nothing.
But if I run setvoxel(3,0,0) and setvoxel(4,0,0) at the same time then they will both light up.
This seems to be consistent with the entire column.
I swapped the 74hc574 chip with other chips and even tried another 74hc138 but no luck.
I removed all other drivers from the board and wired the 138 directly to the 574 but still not luck.
Any ideas?

Re: 8x8x8 LED Cube

Posted: Sun Feb 09, 2014 7:09 pm
by goroth
It was a bubble of solder between 2 output legs.

Now if you have any tips on swapping the Y and Z axis, that would be great.

Re: 8x8x8 LED Cube

Posted: Sat Feb 15, 2014 6:03 pm
by ThePyroElectro
goroth wrote:So I have built the Jameco 8x8x8 led cube but I have a few problems.
1.) I need to swap the Y and Z axis without rewiring the bottom of the cube. I changed the setvoxel but I need a more consistent way.
2.) All the lights on my cube seem to light up fine with except when I try light up single leds by using the setvoxel for some specific leds.
Like if I run setvoxel(3,0,0) I get nothing and if I run setvoxel(4,0,0) I get nothing.
But if I run setvoxel(3,0,0) and setvoxel(4,0,0) at the same time then they will both light up.
This seems to be consistent with the entire column.
I swapped the 74hc574 chip with other chips and even tried another 74hc138 but no luck.
I removed all other drivers from the board and wired the 138 directly to the 574 but still not luck.
Any ideas?


Sounds like a problem! If its the case that things are simply wired backwards, you should be able to change it programmatically. The Z axis is controlled by touching the 2n2222's that connect each plane to ground, which is seperate from setting the (X,Y) individual LEDs on each individual plane. Making this change programmatically is possible if you really understand the code.

In my opinion, re-wiring the bottom of the cube would be faster than debugging/re-writing the code to account for the axis change. Take and throw up some photos on imgur of your design so far if you have more questions.

Good luck!

KDLaun wrote:Hello All,

Finally got around to posting some pictures of my cube project online.
You can see them here:

http://www.instructables.com/id/Club-Ja ... -Cube-Kit/

-KDL


Awesome!!

Re: 8x8x8 LED Cube

Posted: Wed May 28, 2014 5:34 pm
by larryn
Chris, I have a suggestion. On the pagehttp://www.pyroelectro.com/projects/8x8x8_led_cube/hardware3.html, it would help if the capacitors were soldered in before the other wires. Also, please show the underside with the capacitors in place. I suspect that the plan is to connect one wire of the capacitor to the Vcc and the other to ground. It is easier to do this before the wires are soldered in place.

Loved your tutorial. I'm still working on it. 8)

Re: 8x8x8 LED Cube

Posted: Fri May 30, 2014 5:15 pm
by ThePyroElectro
larryn wrote:Chris, I have a suggestion. On the pagehttp://www.pyroelectro.com/projects/8x8x8_led_cube/hardware3.html, it would help if the capacitors were soldered in before the other wires. Also, please show the underside with the capacitors in place. I suspect that the plan is to connect one wire of the capacitor to the Vcc and the other to ground. It is easier to do this before the wires are soldered in place.

Loved your tutorial. I'm still working on it. 8)


Hi Larryn,

Yea, I won't disagree. Soldering in the 0.1u caps before doing all the wiring work would be a little easier. There's no good view of the bottom of the 0.1u's but here's two pics of the complete top/bottom:

http://pyroelectro.com/files/888_top.jpg
http://pyroelectro.com/files/888_bottom.jpg

Maybe that helps.

Thanks for the kudos and good luck! Post pictures of your completed cube!

Re: 8x8x8 LED Cube

Posted: Sun Jul 27, 2014 6:11 pm
by lusis987
Hi pyroelectro!

Are you still wisiting this site? Could you help me with fixing my cube?
I build it using your instructable, but using idea for connecting pin10 and pin20 with capacitor. As power supply used 5v charger connected stright to power bus.
/
When powering on the cube lights up just 1st layer. Tested voltage on other layers - just 1.6v. But why?

Re: 8x8x8 LED Cube

Posted: Mon Jul 28, 2014 1:36 am
by ThePyroElectro
lusis987 wrote:Hi pyroelectro!

Are you still wisiting this site? Could you help me with fixing my cube?
I build it using your instructable, but using idea for connecting pin10 and pin20 with capacitor. As power supply used 5v charger connected stright to power bus.
/
When powering on the cube lights up just 1st layer. Tested voltage on other layers - just 1.6v. But why?


Hello,

Sounds like there's something wrong with your hardware. You'll have to debug from the 74_138 back to the 595's to see why the clock/enable signal isn't arriving.

It'll be a bit tedious to debug....

Re: 8x8x8 LED Cube

Posted: Mon Jul 28, 2014 5:53 am
by lusis987
Great, you are still here :)
I hope that connecting 10pin and 20pin cant be the fault. But Im to thinking that voltage not switching throught layers

How i understood - I need to change 74HC138 to older one 74HC595. Read the datasheet - there are big difference from pin 9 to 16. What should i do? Conect in the place of 74_138 and then what.

What would you do?
PS

I have got 595 chip.

Re: 8x8x8 LED Cube

Posted: Sat Dec 13, 2014 8:26 am
by Paul
Hello. I could get more details about the construction of the hardware ?

I finished building the 8 layers of the cube and now I want to grab the hardware and I would not want to fail, so I wanted to ask more info.

I'm sorry but my English is not very good.

All the best and expect an answer as soon :)

Re: 8x8x8 LED Cube

Posted: Sun Dec 14, 2014 8:51 pm
by ThePyroElectro
Paul wrote:Hello. I could get more details about the construction of the hardware ?

I finished building the 8 layers of the cube and now I want to grab the hardware and I would not want to fail, so I wanted to ask more info.

I'm sorry but my English is not very good.

All the best and expect an answer as soon :)


It's all there in the hardware section

http://www.pyroelectro.com/projects/8x8x8_led_cube/

The parts list has a link to the kit with all the parts used. I think that should show you all you need to know, just follow the schematic when building. :D

Re: 8x8x8 LED Cube

Posted: Mon Dec 15, 2014 6:36 am
by lusis987
I'm too still working with my cube. But there ar problems, that I'm not understanding and cant find on board.
For now it works like this
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Du_jaxqxBXw
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g0kX3RFx_n4

I'm starting to think to rebuild the plate and use PCB hatching to reduce use of wires.