Short Range Personal Radar

Questions and Comments on All Projects
derrick1616
Newbie Pyro
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 6:08 pm

Postby derrick1616 » Thu May 15, 2008 6:58 pm

ok thanks but this is what i get now

Debug build of project `C:\Documents and Settings\Derrick\Desktop\project\radar.mcp' failed.
Preprocessor symbol `__DEBUG' is defined.
Thu May 15 13:55:33 2008

derrick1616
Newbie Pyro
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 6:08 pm

Postby derrick1616 » Thu May 15, 2008 7:28 pm

ok thanks but this is what i am getting now

Debug build of project `C:\Documents and Settings\Derrick\Desktop\project\radar.mcp' started.
Preprocessor symbol `__DEBUG' is defined.
Thu May 15 14:27:41 2008
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Make: The target "C:\Documents and Settings\Derrick\Desktop\project\ir_range_project.o" is up to date.
Make: The target "C:\Documents and Settings\Derrick\Desktop\project\radar.cof" is out of date.
Executing: "C:\MCC18\bin\mplink.exe" /p18F452 "ir_range_project.o" /u_CRUNTIME /u_DEBUG /z__MPLAB_BUILD=1 /z__MPLAB_DEBUG=1 /o"radar.cof" /M"radar.map" /W
MPLINK 4.20, Linker
Copyright (c) 2008 Microchip Technology Inc.
Error - could not find file 'c018i.o'.
Errors : 1

Link step failed.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Debug build of project `C:\Documents and Settings\Derrick\Desktop\project\radar.mcp' failed.
Preprocessor symbol `__DEBUG' is defined.
Thu May 15 14:27:42 2008
----------------------------------------------------------------------
BUILD FAILED

ThePyroElectro
PyroElectro Admin
Posts: 1181
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 9:24 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Postby ThePyroElectro » Thu May 15, 2008 8:14 pm

It's hard to read compile errors without the code. Looks like you need to include a linker file for the chip you're using.

Right click on the linker folder and add the linker file for your PIC from the lkr directory.

derrick1616
Newbie Pyro
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 6:08 pm

Postby derrick1616 » Fri May 16, 2008 1:55 am

thanks man that work i appreciate it

brandon84
Newbie Pyro
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 16, 2008 5:38 pm

Postby brandon84 » Fri May 16, 2008 5:41 pm

i am having a problem on the 373 chip i am only getting .2 V on the output why is that?

brandon84
Newbie Pyro
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 16, 2008 5:38 pm

Postby brandon84 » Fri May 16, 2008 8:01 pm

i am having a problem on the 373 chip i am only getting .2 V on the output why is that?

derrick1616
Newbie Pyro
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 6:08 pm

Postby derrick1616 » Fri May 16, 2008 10:37 pm

i wanted to know what does "LE" means on the 373 chip

derrick1616
Newbie Pyro
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 6:08 pm

Postby derrick1616 » Sun May 18, 2008 3:31 am

RD0-RD4 are working but RD5-RD7 they stay low and so does RB0-RB4 and the PIC Chip but everything else seems to be working

mdbriney
Newbie Pyro
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 11:11 pm

LED's

Postby mdbriney » Thu May 29, 2008 11:16 pm

Your parts list and assembly show 36 LED's, your schematic shows 40. I'm assuming you are wiring the hi or lo bits of the latches?
Also - looking at the led layout like a ball field, the 7 leds on either end being the foul lines.... and similar 3 rows of 7 in between, that makes 35 leds. what is the home plate or 36th led wired to. I was just going to use it as a power indicator.

ThePyroElectro
PyroElectro Admin
Posts: 1181
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 9:24 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Postby ThePyroElectro » Thu May 29, 2008 11:34 pm

Hey mdbriney,

Yea, my wiring diagram/schematic doesn't exactly match how the device ended up which is unfortunate for anyone trying to follow the write-up. So there are some output pins on the latches that aren't used. This happened because I drew up the schematic before building the unit and finding out 40 wasn't an ideal number of LEDs. :?

You're thinking about it correctly and quite honestly the 36th 'home plate' LED (I love your baseball analogy) is always on anyway, so making it a power indicator LED is definitely fine. :D

picbubba
Newbie Pyro
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2008 8:21 pm

GP2Y0D340K vs. GP2Dx

Postby picbubba » Mon Sep 15, 2008 8:35 pm

Hi!


I went down this path when designing/building a mini-Sumo robot that used only one IR range sensor on a servo sweep mechanism.

The problem I found with the GP2Dx that many builders overlook is one of latency...

The GP2Dx sensors return the results far too slowly for a sweep system to be practical in most cases. (moving targets, moderately fast sweep)


The GP2Y0D340K has about 200% faster sensing time and worked pretty well with my Sumo bot, but you have to give up the ranging ability in favour of simply binary proximity.


Just a FYI.

kimikarts
Newbie Pyro
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 3:08 pm

query

Postby kimikarts » Tue Sep 16, 2008 3:20 pm

hello!
can i use olimex p40 usb burner instead of p40 serial burner,coz my laptop doesnt have a serial port.please let me know if any changes have to be made regarding the code and the procedure.

ThePyroElectro
PyroElectro Admin
Posts: 1181
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 9:24 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Postby ThePyroElectro » Tue Sep 16, 2008 4:31 pm

Hey,

If you have the Olimex USB Programmer, you'll need one of the Olimex USB protoboards to go with it in order to program the PIC. I'm not sure of the pin-out for that off the top of my head.

The rest of the changes are inside MPLAB. You'll need to select 'USB' programmer instead of COM1...COM2 or whatever. It should work like a charm once you have everything selected properly!

bow_tucks
Newbie Pyro
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 1:17 pm

hex file

Postby bow_tucks » Mon Oct 13, 2008 4:48 pm

hello..
can u give me the hex file for program ir_range_project.c.this program is for the project personal radar system

ThePyroElectro
PyroElectro Admin
Posts: 1181
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 9:24 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Postby ThePyroElectro » Tue Oct 14, 2008 1:04 pm

Hey bow_tucks,

Unfortunately I don't have access to all my old projects at this time. But you're not out of luck. Go download MPLAB & the C18 libraries from Microchip and you can compile it for yourself!

It's very easy to do and is all completely free!


Return to “Projects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests